Reviews For Good Boys
Reviewer: Maple (maple_mahogany) Anonymous Date: 15/09/08 - 05:56 pm Title: Chapter 1

Oh, my heart! So, what was fun here, is, (again, what you are so good at) you didn't make one of them clearly good/bad. Or one them the broken one and the other the savior. They are both so utterly messed up. I just wanted to grab this Ryan and SHAKE him sometimes and say 'get over it already!!!' ... and then hug him. But I like that there were no quick and easy solutions.

The set up with the woman and Brendon was so ooky and well done. I really hated her. Your portrayal of Bden there as so young and desperate but not virginal and pure was really nice. You captured his age well.

I liked exploring how Brendon actually regressed a little during the relationship with Ryan. That the relationship with Ryan wasn't the be all, end all of everything. It took a lot of work.

One of the things that really draws me into your stories is that you include the whole 'cast' and don't pare the scenes down the to the 'ship' alone. We get to see the others (though after reading this and 'Scenes' I am getting desperate for the Bob/Spencer part!). I didn't expect the bonus J/R/B threesome, which is one of my favorite things (J/B being my favorite Panic ship) and I think I melted a little bit. But no, it got worse. Everything beginning with Ryan's plan to make Brendon ask for everything he wanted from the others was utterly scorching. Then the phone call to Frank. And then Mikey and Frank watching. I was beside myself - and again, not just because of teh naked and teh body parts, but because of the psychological impact it was having on all of the characters. (well, mikeyway's wet spot on rather made me squeal)

I enjoyed this so very much but you are proving to be a huge distraction in the middle of my very busy life! (but I like it!)

Author's Response: Hee, I hope you're not TOO distracted. So, Good Boys is kind of my baby in this verse, which is saying a lot, because the whole verse was a project of love. Thank you for this in-depth response, I really appreciated the thought put into it. *hugs*

Reviewer: XxRydenFanxX Signed Date: 16/08/08 - 04:44 pm Title: Chapter 1

Oh my god! I love this story. It's so freaking awsome.Keep up the good work!!!:D

Author's Response: Thanks!

Reviewer: chance Anonymous Date: 23/07/08 - 04:22 pm Title: Chapter 1

okay, so this was absolutely incredible.
it took me hours to read it all.
but im officially in love with it :]
i have a few lines that i loved :]

'Brendon's done his hair and Ryan's pretty sure he has lip gloss on. Jesus.'

that part made me giggle uncontrollably.

'Brendon's boyfriend is the coolest uncool person in the entire universe.'

that line was one of those things that shouldnt really make sense, but it did :]

'the way Brendon curls up in his sleep, the way he sometimes sings in it'

imagining bren singing in his sleep is just wonderful :]

and my favorite is:
"We should still wear hats."

"And possibly fake facial hair," Spencer says. Ryan chokes on the sip of water he was taking.

that seriously almost made me piss myself.
this story was amazing.
you're one of the most talented fanfic writers i've ever come across.
amazing :]

Author's Response: Thank you! This story is kind of the story of my heart in this fandom, the one that's closest to me, so hearing someone say they enjoyed it really does wonders.

Reviewer: Julie Anonymous Date: 04/07/08 - 07:46 pm Title: Chapter 1

that was fucking incredible. =]

Author's Response: Thank you!

Reviewer: snugglebud_x3 Anonymous Date: 22/06/08 - 09:19 am Title: Chapter 1

your writing is absolutely amazing. this is the third or fourth thing I've read by you, and, wow, you really. I'm not even coherent because I stayed up all night reading this, and I haven't had coffee yet, so I'll leave you with a: You are fabulous and so is every word that comes from your mind.

Author's Response: *g* Hope you got your coffee!!! It's so nice to know you're enjoying multiple things by me!! Awesome and thanks!

Reviewer: elle Anonymous Date: 19/06/08 - 03:11 pm Title: Chapter 1

I've been keeping a low profile in bandom recently, but this was just amazing, and... and so much of what I wasn't expecting. Loved the dynamics between your Brendon and Ryan.
I've was absolutely captivated by these two for the last 2 hours - watching the two of them learn how to move together/ meld together... just really, it was a great story.

Author's Response: I totally understand the low profile thing. I really appreciate you popping out to say this, for true. *hugs* Thank you so much.

Reviewer: M Anonymous Date: 22/05/08 - 07:25 pm Title: Chapter 1

that was really really excellent, i have to say. your characterization of brendon is beyond solid, it's brilliant. i love how you formed your characters , especially brendon and ryan but particularly brendon, through memories, his feelings, and his actions. A+ job.

Author's Response: This story is pretty much the one that got me into bandom, and really formed a lot of my relationship to Brendon and Ryan, so I'm glad to hear this. Thanks.

Reviewer: Quizzical Signed Date: 06/04/08 - 05:39 pm Title: Chapter 1

i just love the community/family of friends. the extended relationships. and the way their history with each other plays into the different dynamics.



Author's Response: That was often my favorite part of writing this, thanks.

Reviewer: newfan Anonymous Date: 15/02/08 - 08:24 pm Title: Chapter 1

this was even more impactful the second time for some reason. i noticed the tenderness more. and the way the relationships between the friends (outside of the couples) was so important. the conversation between ryan and mikey (about how they've hurt and been forgiven) just had me holding my breath.

Author's Response: Yeah, friendship may be an even bigger kink for me than love. I'm glad this works so well for you.

Reviewer: o Anonymous Date: 12/02/08 - 01:08 am Title: Chapter 1

so I sort of just fell into bandom literally like, last week and brendon/ryan were immediately my otp. I thought they were cute in pictures together before now, but once I started reading fic last week, something just clicked for me. maybe I just got lucky and picked good writers :) anyway, I've been going thru people's fic recs and finally came across this one and holy shit. It's 4 in the morning and I just finished and I want to read it all over again. I've read a ridiculous amount of b/r fic over the past week and most of it has been good, some GREAT, but this is just. a league of its own. I love long fics that explore real relationship issues like how you can be so fucked up from childhood trauma that you almost intentionally ruin every romantic relationship b/c you think you don't deserve it. and yeah, this fic just really spoke to me, for a lot of reasons. there's a line in a young adult chicklit I read recently - "we are perfect in our imperfections". that's what ryan and brendon were in this story IMO. geez, I don't even know what I'm saying anymore or if any of this makes sense b/c like I said it's 4 in the morning and to be honest, this is the very first feedback I've left for any bandslash fic, so it's all bubbling out right now.

but basically, I loved this. thank you.

Author's Response: Welcome to the fandom. Brendon/Ryan is a good pairing. *g* Thank you so much. This story is very, very close to my heart for a lot of the reasons you pick up on here. I'm glad it spoke to you.

Skin by egelantier, photo by microbophile