sparsenicjade
RSS
Reviewer: simone (true_masquerade@livejoural) Anonymous Date: 19/07/11 - 07:01 am Title: Chapter 1

First off, I have to say that I LOVE these two fandoms together. I loved them separately - HP was my first fandom that I thought would last forever (before I discovered that fandom is a big and exciting place if you aren't monogamous ;-), and bandom is my shiny new (adorable) rock star fandom. And you make them both shine. You make them make each other shine.

I can't even fathom how insanely good the HP stuff is in here. You've taken J.K.'s world-building from the books and extrapolated it into these amazing sophisticated adult concepts and ideas and history and language. You take the rote learning of Goblin Wars from the History of Magic classes and come up with a discussion on how far back magic dates and the Roman Empire and how that affects language and how far back the records go in ancient China. And you take the clever, but mostly amusing ways J.K. used Latin in the language of magic, and extrapolate that to how that language differs from country to country and how it doesn’t, and how that’s related to the development of language across Europe generally. And you take words like Muggle and mudblood and see that they make sense as slang, but that the political correctness of our 21st century must have a counterpart, ESPECIALLY in the context of a society that has undergone political and social upheaval on the scale of a civil war or revolution of some sort. And you come up with non-Descendant and non-magic adepts, they are perfect :-)… Jon describing Hermione as Hermione Granger, Hope of the non-Descendants, gave me chills.

Which brings me to the other wonderful bit – seeing each group’s fame through each others eyes – it was fascinating. Jon growing up seeing these people as celebrities and heroes, and Harry wanting to know if they know Muse :-) I LOVED how you wrote Harry. It was lovely seeing him so NORMAL! Both to not have him be the most important person in the room or the story, to have him be friendly and normal and almost the background, EVEN while being aware of his fame/history/status/etc.etc… :-D like I said it was a fascinating look at fame all round.

And that’s not even mentioning how eminently likable all the characters are! how it has plot! And boys being awesomely loyal, and the best band ever! And Tom and Ryan! And background Spencer and Bob :-D

I’m so sorry this comment is so TL;DR, I know I sound like an idiot… but I just really liked it… :-)?

Author's Response: You don't sound like an idiot at all. I don't remember the last time feedback--which is ALWAYS wonderful--made me smile and engage so much. This is truly wonderful, a fantastic thing to see after a long, hard day, and I really, really appreciate you taking the time to tell me these things. Thank you!!

Reviewer: redandglenda Anonymous Date: 02/03/08 - 09:53 pm Title: Chapter 1

Normally I don't really like Hermione that much, and especially not in fic for no specific reason. . . but anyone who treats JWalk nicely is good in my books! And Jon actually being magic was spot on.

This was so very cute - and I think I loved the Tom/Ryan moments (especially with Tom as a wolf) the best of all. And your reference of Bob/Spencer did not escape THIS Drummer!love fan! :)

Author's Response: Aw, Hermione's very much my favorite. Glad you enjoyed the fic!

Reviewer: Winter Anonymous Date: 29/02/08 - 05:28 pm Title: Chapter 1

This was cute, hon! I loved the relationship between Tom and Ryan, even if I really don't know who they are, and the grown up Trio were perfectly in character.

Author's Response: Aw, thanks. Way to go you for reading this even if it was sort of bandom-centric. I always have fun writing the grown up trio. It's nice that now I don't feel like I have to kill any of them off...

Reviewer: Tabby Anonymous Date: 20/02/08 - 12:01 am Title: Chapter 1

awww, this makes my heart all happy! I think I love Tomrad-the-wolf the bestest. *g* very interesting idea & an awesome tale.

Author's Response: Tomrad the wolf is a happy place in my heart as well. YAY, THANKS!

Reviewer: belladonnalin Anonymous Date: 17/02/08 - 10:52 pm Title: Chapter 1

This has been sitting in my to-read in my del.icio.us for a while and tonight was JUST the night for me to sit down and read it. This was cute and funny and I laughed and ... JON WALKER.

That is all. Thank you for improving my shitty weekend.

Author's Response: Aw, I'm so so glad I could do that for you. I'm sorry you're still sick, sweetheart, I hope things get better for you.

Reviewer: whoyouinvent Anonymous Date: 17/02/08 - 07:35 am Title: Chapter 1

!!!!
there are no words for my love of your bandom/hp crossovers, no words.
i think the moment that i really fell for jon in this (as apposed to all the time, which is a don deal) was the scene with draco, when he explained how to be a one and three, and make that four. oh, jon. you *are* magic.

Author's Response: Hi you! I'm so very glad you enjoyed this. Jon just can't stop winning my heart.

Reviewer: Anonymous Anonymous Date: 16/02/08 - 09:32 pm Title: Chapter 1

AWESOME!

Author's Response: Thanks!

Reviewer: dana Anonymous Date: 16/02/08 - 08:05 pm Title: Chapter 1

Jon/Hermione=love!

This was such a great read, sweetie! I loved it!

Author's Response: I'm kinda surprised you read this. You are awesome and kind and wonderful.

Reviewer: sauciloo Anonymous Date: 15/02/08 - 08:35 pm Title: Chapter 1

Some things I love...

1. Tell the others what exactly? That you fixed your bass with the power of your mind and eight and half inches of wood?
It works because of the "and half inches" part

2. music and emotions, those are Jon's strengths. Tom can turn into a Russian wolf. Life is seriously unfair.

magical and a rock star? it's a rough life.

3. "Our band," Brendon says solemnly, but with a chord of giddiness belying the posturing, "is actually magic."

I can hear him. There are times when being an auditory learner is love.

4. "I know they won't." Jon does, too. He thinks they'd all allow themselves to be tortured before they gave information out that would end in Jon being hurt. The thought presses at his lungs, too intense to be processed in his veins all at once.

You make it hurt so good, hon.

5. Jon has always known, even at fifteen, when he left for the parts of him that were bigger, still are bigger than the magic

I adore a good story and I live for the moments when I create a researchable question, but certain kinds of music? harmonies, and oh god drums? trancendent.

6. "Still," Brendon says brightly, "you never know when we might be useful. We're resourceful guys."

"And I've never seen England when we weren't there on tour, either," Ryan says.

Spencer says, "Send me your flight plans so I can coordinate, okay?"

Oh, my beautiful Spencer. Hyper-responsible and a drummer. *Dies*

7. Tom, evidently, gets special dispensation from Ryan's ire by dint of being really smoking hot.

This is a money sentence.

8. Jon's met a fair number of celebrities in his life, some that he had really, really big brain-crushes on as a kid, but there's celebrity and then there's celebrity. He's just not sure what you say to a guy who actually saved the world.

Here is where my previously undetected saviour-referencing kink kicked in.

9. It's possible he had her Bertie Botts card tucked inside the front flap of his Trapper Keeper the first day he went off to school, but he doesn't really discuss that.

and HONESTLY, who wouldn't?

and 10...Hermione/Jon is JOY. Oh, older woman het. Now where did that girl go off to?

Author's Response: I always feel like such a poser writing in music-based fandoms, b/c I don't much listen or do anything around music, really. I'm just not that into it. So I'm totally faking it, tbh. Glad it works. Hermione/anybody is JOY, let us be honest. Well, anybody worth of her. *hugs you*

Skin by egelantier, photo by microbophile